Wisconsin Lutheran Chapel logo

God’s Word for You - Devotion Archive

November 2018

Luke 17:22 Son of man
Friday, November 16

Luke 17:20-21 the kingdom of God is within you
Thursday, November 15

Luke 17:15-19 one leper
Wednesday, November 14

Luke 17:12-14 ten lepers
Tuesday, November 13

Luke 17:11 on the borderland
Monday, November 12

Jonah 3:4 unworthy ministers
Saturday, November 10

Luke 17:10 unworthy slaves
Friday, November 9

Luke 17:7-9 slavery
Thursday, November 8

Luke 17:5-6 as small as a mustard seed
Wednesday, November 7

Luke 17:3-4 Forgive
Tuesday, November 6

Luke 17:1-3 rebuke and forgive
Monday, November 5

Jonah 3:1-3 a journey of three days
Saturday, November 3

Luke 16:30-31 even if someone rises from the dead
Friday, November 2

Luke 16:29b Is believing a good work?
Thursday, November 1

October 2018

Luke 16:29a Moses and the Prophets
Wednesday, October 31

Luke 16:27-28 the ignorance of the damned
Tuesday, October 30

Luke 16:25-26 Purgatory or Not Purgatory
Monday, October 29

Jonah 2:9-10 Salvation comes from the LORD
Saturday, October 27

Luke 16:24b pain in hell, animals in heaven
Friday, October 26

Luke 16:24a the pitilessness of hell
Thursday, October 25

Luke 16:22b-23 the soul in hell
Wednesday, October 24

Luke 16:19-22a poor Lazarus
Tuesday, October 23

Luke 16:17-18 one pen stroke
Monday, October 22

Jonah 2:8 worthless vapors
Saturday, October 20

Luke 16:16 everyone forces his way into it
Friday, October 19

Luke 16:13-15 an abomination
Thursday, October 18

Luke 16:10-12 true riches
Wednesday, October 17

Luke 16:5-9 Be shrewd
Tuesday, October 16

Luke 16:1-4 use whatever we have for eternal good
Monday, October 15

Jonah 2:7 your holy temple
Saturday, October 13

Luke 15:21-32 lost and found
Friday, October 12

Luke 15:25-30 The music of forgiveness
Thursday, October 11

Luke 15:20-24 He was lost and is found
Wednesday, October 10

Luke 15:15-19 Pigs
Tuesday, October 9

Luke 15:11-14 The Lost Son
Monday, October 8

Jonah 2:5-6 simply and miraculously saved
Saturday, October 6

Luke 15:8-10 I am the coin
Friday, October 5

Luke 15:3-7 A lost sheep
Thursday, October 4

Luke 15:1-2 in order to call them back
Wednesday, October 3

Luke 14:34-35 Salt
Tuesday, October 2

Luke 14:31-33 my Old Adam is killed
Monday, October 1

September 2018

Jonah 2:4 toward your temple
Saturday, September 29

Luke 14:28-30 the cost
Friday, September 28

Luke 14:25-27 fear, love, and trust in him above all things
Thursday, September 27

Luke 14:23-24 Fill ‘er up!
Wednesday, September 26

Luke 14:21-22 There still is room
Tuesday, September 25

Luke 14:16-20 Come, for all things are now ready
Monday, September 24

Jonah 2:3 whitecaps and waves
Saturday, September 22

Luke 14:15 the joy and promise of eternal life
Friday, September 21

Luke 14:12-14 unselfish love
Thursday, September 20

Luke 14:7-11 Friend, move up higher
Wednesday, September 19

Luke 14:5-6 love is the rule that trumps the law
Tuesday, September 18

Luke 14:1-4 Mercy
Monday, September 17

Jonah 2:1-2 God will hear your cry
Saturday, September 15

Luke 13:35 Your house is abandoned
Friday, September 14

Luke 13:34 the vocative of love
Thursday, September 13

Luke 13:31-33 Jesus’ goal
Wednesday, September 12

Luke 13:30 the last first
Wednesday, September 12

Luke 13:29 east and west, north and south
Monday, September 10

Jonah 1:17 (Part 2) Jonah and the Whale
Saturday, September 8

Luke 13:28 weeping and gnashing of teeth
Friday, September 7

Luke 13:23-27 The narrow door
Thursday, September 6

Luke 13:22 toward the cross
Wednesday, September 5

Luke 13:20-21 yeast
Tuesday, September 4

Luke 13:18-19 The Mustard Seed
Monday, September 3

Jonah 1:17 pt. 1 Jonah and the whale
Saturday, September 1

August 2018

Luke 13:14-17 The endless maze of the law
Friday, August 31

Luke 13:10-13 She stood straight up
Thursday, August 30

Luke 13:6-9 Grace, Faith and a Fig Tree
Wednesday, August 29

Luke 13:4-5 The tower of Siloam
Tuesday, August 28

Luke 13:1-3 The Galileans
Monday, August 27

Jonah 1:16 They feared a great fear
Sunday, August 26

Luke 12:57-59 Is your debt settled
Friday, August 24

Luke 12:54-56 It’s gonna rain
Thursday, August 23

Luke 12:51-53 Not peace but division
Wednesday, August 22

Luke 12:49-50 fire on the earth
Tuesday, August 21

Luke 12:41-48 Who is that faithful manager
Monday, August 20

Jonah 1:13-15 an end to the Lord’s wrath
Saturday, August 18

Luke 12:35-40 He will come again
Friday, August 17

Luke 12:32-34 Have no fear, little flock
Thursday, August 16

Luke 12:27-31 The lily and me
Wednesday, August 15

Luke 12:22-26 your heavenly Father will look after your needs
Tuesday, August 14

Luke 12:16-21 The Rich Fool
Monday, August 13

Jonah 1:11-12 Pick me up and throw me in
Saturday, August 11

Luke 12:13-15 Be on guard against greed
Friday, August 10

Luke 12:11-12 the Holy Spirit will teach you
Thursday, August 9

Luke 12:8-10 blasphemy against the Holy Spirit
Wednesday, August 8

Luke 12:6-7 five sparrows sold
Tuesday, August 7

Luke 12:4-5 Do not fear
Monday, August 6

Jonah 1:9-10 The God of heaven, sea, and land
Saturday, August 4

Luke 12:1-3 hypocrisy
Friday, August 3

Luke 11:52-54 the key of knowledge
Thursday, August 2

Luke 11:49b-51 from the blood of Abel to the blood of Zechariah
Wednesday, August 1

July 2018

Luke 11:49a The Wisdom of God
Tuesday, July 31

Luke 11:45-48 Tombs of the prophets
Monday, July 30

Jonah 1:8 What’s your business here
Saturday, July 28

Luke 11:44 unmarked graves
Friday, July 27

Luke 11:42-43 mint and stinkweed
Thursday, July 26

Luke 11:37-41 inside you are full of greed
Wednesday, July 25

Luke 11:35-36 light
Tuesday, July 24

Luke 11:33-34 This little gospel light of mine
Monday, July 23

Jonah 1:7 the lot fell to Jonah
Saturday, July 21

Luke 11:31-32 One greater than Solomon is here
Friday, July 20

Luke 11:29-30 the sign of Jonah
Thursday, July 19

Luke 11:27-28 blessed and still more blessed
Wednesday, July 18

Luke 11:24-26 seven other spirits even more evil
Tuesday, July 17

Luke 11:23 who is not with me is against me
Monday, July 16

Jonah 1:6 The ship’s captain
Saturday, July 14

Luke 11:21-22 the stronger man
Friday, July 13

Luke 11:14-20 even over demons
Thursday, July 12

Luke 11:11-13 Pray big! Pray bold!
Wednesday, July 11

Luke 11:9-10 Ask, seek, knock
Tuesday, July 10

Luke 11:5-8 bold persistence
Monday, July 9

Jonah 1:5 They jettisoned the cargo
Saturday, July 7

Luke 11:4c The Seventh Petition and Doxology
Friday, July 6

Luke 11:4b The Sixth Petition
Thursday, July 5

Luke 11:4a The Fifth Petition
Wednesday, July 4

Luke 11:3 The Fourth Petition
Tuesday, July 3

Luke 11:2d Variant: The Third Petition
Monday, July 2

June 2018

Jonah 1:4 The storm
Saturday, June 30

Luke 11:2c The Second Petition
Friday, June 29

Luke 11:2b The First Petition
Thursday, June 28

Luke 11:1-2a The Address
Wednesday, June 27

Luke 10:42b the one thing needful
Tuesday, June 26

Luke 10:38-42a Martha, Martha
Monday, June 25

Jonah 1:3 to run away from the LORD
Saturday, June 23

Luke 10:35-37 The Good Samaritan (part 2)
Friday, June 22

Luke 10:30-34 The Good Samaritan (part 1)
Thursday, June 21

Luke 10:25-29 who is my neighbor
Wednesday, June 20

Luke 10:23-24 Christ is our firm foundation
Tuesday, June 19

Luke 10:21-22 Jesus rejoiced in the Holy Spirit
Monday, June 18

Jonah 1:2 God’s justice
Saturday, June 16

Luke 10:16-20 Whoever hears you hears me
Friday, June 15

Luke 10:12-15 Woe to you, Chorazin
Thursday, June 14

Luke 10:8-11 The pelting rain of the gospel
Wednesday, June 13

Luke 10:3-7
Tuesday, June 12

Luke 10:1-2 Pray for more workers
Monday, June 11

Jonah 1:1 The word of the LORD
Saturday, June 9

Luke 9:59-62 the plow of the gospel
Friday, June 8

Luke 9:57-58 foxes and birds
Thursday, June 7

Luke 9:55b-56 a variant reading
Wednesday, June 6

Luke 9:51-55a
Tuesday, June 5

Luke 9:49-50 whoever is not against you is for you
Monday, June 4

Obadiah 19-21 The LORD himself will be King
Saturday, June 2

Psalm 104:31-35 Praise the LORD, O my soul
Friday, June 1

May 2018

Psalm 104:24-30 the leviathan
Thursday, May 31

Psalm 104:19-23 the sun knows when to go down
Wednesday, May 30

Psalm 104:5-18
Tuesday, May 29

Psalm 104:1-4 winds his messengers
Monday, May 28

Psalm 23:6
Saturday, May 26

Psalm 23:5 Table, oil and cup
Friday, May 25

Psalm 23:4 You with me
Thursday, May 24

Psalm 23:3 Brother and sister socks
Wednesday, May 23

Psalm 23:2
Tuesday, May 22

Psalm 23:1 There is nothing else I need
Monday, May 21

Psalm 23, Title by David
Saturday, May 19

Luke 9:46-48
Friday, May 18

Luke 9:43b-45 Into your ears
Thursday, May 17

Luke 9:42-43a He healed him
Wednesday, May 16

Luke 9:38-41
Tuesday, May 15

Luke 9:37 The next morning
Monday, May 14

Obadiah 18 A call to repentance
Saturday, May 12

Luke 9:33-36 His divinity and his humanity
Friday, May 11

Luke 9:29-32 The transfiguration
Thursday, May 10

Luke 9:28 Up on the mountain
Wednesday, May 9

Luke 9:27 The kingdom of God
Tuesday, May 8

Luke 9:25-26 When he comes in his glory
Monday, May 7

Obadiah 16-17
Saturday, May 5

Luke 9:23-24 Your daily cross
Friday, May 4

Luke 9:22 “Must.”
Thursday, May 3

Luke 9:20-21 The Christ of God
Wednesday, May 2

Luke 9:18-19 Who is Jesus?
Tuesday, May 1

April 2018

Luke 9:16-17
Monday, April 30

Obadiah 15 your deeds shall return
Saturday, April 28

Luke 9:12-15 The Five Thousand
Friday, April 27

Luke 9:10-11 Jesus preaches to the crowds
Thursday, April 26

Luke 9:7-9 Herod wonders who Jesus might be
Wednesday, April 25

Luke 9:3-6 no staff, no bag, no bread, no money
Tuesday, April 24

Luke 9:1-2 time to do some planting
Monday, April 23

Obadiah 13-14 When disaster is an opportunity
Saturday, April 21

Luke 8:52-56 the resurrection
Friday, April 20

Luke 8:49-51 Just keep believing
Thursday, April 19

Luke 8:43-48 The bleeding woman
Wednesday, April 18

Luke 8:41-42 his only-begotten
Tuesday, April 17

Luke 8:40 Jesus’ homecoming
Monday, April 16

Obadiah 11-12 The Eighth Commandment
Saturday, April 14

Luke 8:38-39 tell how much God has done
Friday, April 13

Luke 8:34-37 One thing is needed
Thursday, April 12

Luke 8:30-33 the demons and the pigs
Wednesday, April 11

Luke 8:27-29 The demon and the Lord
Tuesday, April 10

Luke 8:26 The Gerasenes
Monday, April 9

Psalm 31:23-24 My hope is in the Lord
Saturday, April 7

Psalm 31:19-22 in the shelter of God’s face
Friday, April 6

Psalm 31:14-18 I say, “You are my God.”
Thursday, April 5

Psalm 31:9-13 Terror on every side
Wednesday, April 4

Psalm 31:5-8 I commit my spirit
Tuesday, April 3

Psalm 31:1-4
Monday, April 2

March 2018

Obadiah 9-10 The descent into hell
Saturday, March 31

John 19:16b-22 Good Friday
Friday, March 30

Colossians 1:28-29 What is God’s will for mankind?
Thursday, March 29

Colossians 1:27 Christ’s constant presence among us
Wednesday, March 28

Colossians 1:25-26 The mysteries of God
Tuesday, March 27

Colossians 1:24 the afflictions of Christ
Monday, March 26

Obadiah 7b revisited
Saturday, March 24

Colossians 1:23 Your foundation
Friday, March 23

Colossians 1:21-22 hostile to God
Thursday, March 22

Colossians 1:20 reconciliation
Wednesday, March 21

Colossians 1:19 The communication of attributes
Tuesday, March 20

Colossians 1:18 The head of the church
Monday, March 19

Obadiah 8 The wisdom of the wise
Saturday, March 17

Luke 8:24-25 We’re Drowning
Friday, March 16

Luke 8:22-23 Fellas, it’s been good ya
Thursday, March 15

Luke 8:19-21 Jesus’ brothers
Wednesday, March 14

Luke 8:18 consider carefully how you listen
Tuesday, March 13

Luke 8:16-17 Be a lamp and shine
Monday, March 12

Obadiah 7 your allies will force you to the border
Saturday, March 10

Luke 8:12-15 The four soils
Friday, March 9

Luke 8:4-11 The sower sows
Thursday, March 8

Luke 8:1-3 doing whatever was necessary
Wednesday, March 7

Luke 7:48-50 All sins forgiven
Tuesday, March 6

Luke 7:44-47 Forgiven
Monday, March 5

Obadiah 6 The ruin of hell
Saturday, March 3

Luke 7:40-43 Denariuses of sin forgiven
Friday, March 2

Luke 7:39 The Pharisee’s trap
Thursday, March 1

February 2018

Luke 7:36-38 A simple act of worship
Wednesday, February 28

Luke 7:33-35 John has come and Jesus has come
Tuesday, February 27

Luke 7:31-32 Flutes and dirges – will you play?
Monday, February 26

Obadiah 5 If robbers came at night…
Saturday, February 24

Luke 7:29-30 God Is Just
Friday, February 23

Luke 7:28 Greater than John?
Thursday, February 22

Luke 7:26-27 More than a prophet
Wednesday, February 21

Luke 7:24-25 John the prophet
Tuesday, February 20

Luke 7:21-23 The gospel of forgiveness
Monday, February 19

Obadiah 4
Saturday, February 17

Luke 7:18-20 The question
Friday, February 16

Luke 7:16-17 Christ the Lord God
Thursday, February 15

Luke 7:14-15 The resurrection of the dead
Wednesday, February 14

Luke 7:12-13 ἰδού Behold!
Tuesday, February 13

Luke 7:11 Shunem and Nain
Monday, February 12

Obadiah 3 Pride
Saturday, February 10

Luke 7:9-10 faith
Friday, February 9

Luke 7:6-8
Thursday, February 8

Luke 7:1-5
Wednesday, February 7

Luke 6:49
Tuesday, February 6

Luke 6:47-48
Monday, February 5

Obadiah 2
Saturday, February 3

Luke 6:46 Lord, Lord.
Friday, February 2

Luke 6:45 good out of the good
Thursday, February 1

January 2018

Luke 6:44
Wednesday, January 31

Luke 6:43 Good tree, good fruit
Tuesday, January 30

Luke 6:41-42 The speck in your brother’s eye
Monday, January 29

Obadiah 1c A call to war
Saturday, January 27

Luke 6:39-40 Your teacher and your students
Friday, January 26

Luke 6:37-38 Forgive
Thursday, January 25

Luke 6:36 Be merciful
Wednesday, January 24

Luke 6:32-35 Love, do good, and lend.
Tuesday, January 23

Luke 6:31 The Golden Rule
Monday, January 22

Obadiah 1b The word of God to Edom
Saturday, January 20

Luke 6:30 Give
Friday, January 19

Luke 6:29 Turn the other cheek
Thursday, January 18

Luke 6:27-28 Love your enemies
Wednesday, January 17

Luke 6:26 Gandhi and other false prophets
Tuesday, January 16

Luke 6:25b Woe to those who laugh
Monday, January 15

Obadiah 1a The vision of Obadiah
Saturday, January 13

Luke 6:25a
Friday, January 12

Luke 6:24 Woe to the rich
Thursday, January 11

Luke 6:22-23 Your cross
Wednesday, January 10

Luke 6:21 You are blessed
Tuesday, January 9

Luke 6:20 Blessed are the poor
Monday, January 8

Colossians 1:17 God is omnipresent
Saturday, January 6

Colossians 1:16 Angels
Friday, January 5

Colossians 1:15 The image of God
Thursday, January 4

Colossians 1:14b forgiveness of sins
Wednesday, January 3

Colossians 1:14a Redemption
Tuesday, January 2

Colossians 1:13 New Year’s Day
Monday, January 1